historic Lamberts Plantation House sits on approximately 5 acres of
land. This plantation was called "Cole Harbour" in 1653 and sold for
25,500 lbs of Muscovado sugar. It stayed in the family until 1800, when
the then 464 acre property was sold in Chancery Court.
1930's a new owner took over this home demolished the existing timber
house and re-casting both the wood and windows in the coral-stone
structure that is there today. Another renovation took place a couple
of years after. This time the ceiling, plumbing and electrics have been
replaced. The grounds were also transformed, where the mahogany grove
in the front and the old millwall were restored. The old coach house
has been changed into a charming 2-bedroom cottage and the millwall is
now used as a barbeque area.
The home has 5 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms.
There is a well kept garden with a 2 bedroom cottage.
The property can be viewed during the Barbados Natural Trust Open House Program. (Telephone: (246) 436-9033 or 426 2421. Fax: (246) 429 9055.